The Best Homemade Cake & Icing

Let me start off by saying I don’t like cake! I can’t explain why, but I just am not a fan of cake. For my birthdays I’ve always requested ice cream cakes. My point is, if I say this is the best cake, then it is THE BEST cake! It’s moist and rich and I actually love it! It’s really easy to make too and sure to be a hit with everyone!

You Will Need:

Cake:

-1 cup butter

-1 cup water

-2 cups sugar

-2 1/4 cups flour

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-2 eggs

-1 teaspoon baking soda

-1 teaspoon vanilla

-1/2 cup sour cream

Icing:

-1 cup butter

-6 Tablespoons evaporated milk

-4 1/2 cups powdered sugar

-1 teaspoon vanilla

-pinch salt

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 375 degrees

-Melt butter and water together in microwave

-Stir in sugar, flour, salt, and baking soda. Whisk until smooth

-Add eggs and vanilla

-Whisk in sour cream until well blended

-Pour batter into a well greased 9×13 baking dish

-Bake for 25 minutes. Toothpick should come out of center clean

-While cake is cooling make the icing

-Melt butter in a medium bowl

-Whisk in evaporated milk, powdered sugar, vanilla, & salt

-Spread over cake

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 21:14:05

    Looks delicious! I love cake…and bet I’d like this one! Sour cream always makes a very moist cake…great recipe!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 14:03:42

    i would like to try it and took down the recipe but it does not show how much baking soda i would need for cake and i am not a baker does anyone know?

    Reply

  3. thesweetthingsqueen
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 16:53:11

    I’m so sorry! I’m just now seeing your first comment! It’s 1 teaspoon of baking soda for the cake. I’ll have to fix that!

    Reply

  4. Denise WIlson
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 02:56:16

    All Purpose Flour or Self Rising Flour? I want to make this today but I need to know the type of flour to use? HELP

    Reply

  5. Nikki
    May 31, 2014 @ 17:07:36

    I just made this and LOVED it. I have a sweet tooth and didn’t come close to using half of the icing this called for. It takes away from the cake if you do. Half is plenty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

