Mexican Cornbread

I have to be honest and admit that I was thoroughly disgusted by this recipe. Just everything about it sounds disgusting. After much pleading from Andrew (it’s on of his favorites) I finally broke down and made it for him. I stand corrected, this is GOOD! I had to play with this recipe a few times to really get it right, so this is now the edited version of the original one I posted!

You Will Need:

-1lb ground beef

-1 chopped onion (or I just used onion powder)

-1 cup corn meal

-1 cup milk

-3/4 teaspoon salt

-1 can creamy corn

-2 eggs

-1/2 cup vegetable oil

-1/2 teaspoon baking soda

-1 4oz can rotel

-2 bags of Mexican blend shredded cheese

– Slices of jalapeno peppers to taste

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-Brown ground beef and onions. Drain & set aside

-In a large bowl mix together corn meal, milk, salt, corn, eggs, oil, and baking soda

-Pour half of the batter into a greased baking dish

-Cover batter with meat

-Cover meat with rotel and jalapeno peppers

-Cover with cheese

-Pour over the rest of the batter

-Bake for 45 minutes

 

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 14:26:32

    I ADDED H.PEPPERS IT MADE IT BETTER

    Reply

    • thesweetthingsqueen
      Mar 15, 2014 @ 14:42:52

      So weird that you posted this comment today! I actually just made this Thursday night. This time I added more cheese, a can of rotel, and some jalapeno peppers and it was much more flavorful!

      Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 16:34:07

    Made this last night. I like that it has no flour. To make it fast and easy, I cooked the meat, onions, green chiles and salsa in my large cast iron pan, then just omitted the oil from the batter, poured it on top, sprinkled with cheese and popped it in a 375 oven. Takes less time because the pan is hot already.

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 09:01:20

    This looks delicious. Do you drain the corn? I can’t wait to try the recipe.

    Reply

  4. Brandi
    Nov 30, 2014 @ 12:09:59

    This dish was awesome. My family loved it and it was very easy to make.

    Reply

  5. Crystal
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 16:41:34

    A version of this recipe was handed down to me by my mother in law. My husband LOVED her Mexican cornbread and always asked me to make it. Of course, I had to, somehow, make it my own. So I started mixing spicy sausage in with the hamburger meat and I use queso blanco cheese. Jalapenos are a nice addition too

    Reply

  6. MayB
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 19:58:00

    I accidently poured too much of the batter on the bottom so I had to whip up another batch of the cornmeal mix to pour on top. I hope it turns out well.

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 11:11:41

    Do u drain the ROTEL?

    Reply

  8. Anonymous
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 07:23:51

    If I wanted to use jiffy or any other mexi-cornbread mix, do I use as instructed on pkg., then add creamed corn..?

    Reply

    • thesweetthingsqueen
      Jun 14, 2015 @ 10:14:56

      Yes, make the cornbread mix as directed then add the beef, corn, rotel, etc as the recipe calls. I do this all the time. I really like the Jiffy cornbread mix that comes in the small box. You will need a couple boxes of it though.

      Reply

  9. Anonymous
    Jun 14, 2015 @ 07:26:47

    I meant as directed on pkg, then add creamed corn.

    Reply

  10. Cheyenne
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 22:29:32

    Would adding taco seasoning to the meat be okay?

    Reply

  11. Anonymous
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 19:39:49

    You didn’t include when to add the can of creamed corn in the directions. You might want to add that step.

    Reply

  12. Barbara Vacchieri
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 00:45:54

    Well I made it tonight I’ll get back to you on taste. I added ro*tel and a can of diced green chilies, nothing to hot my family is a little sensitive when it comes to spicy. It seems to be one of those full proof recipes. BTW, didn’t have any corn meal used Marie Calendars corn bread mix, after all the first ingredient is Yellow Corn Meal.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  13. Anonymous
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 08:47:06

    What size baking dish?

    Reply

  14. Sarah
    Jan 31, 2016 @ 18:17:53

    When you say two bags of cheese do you mean the same thing as two cups? Thanks!

    Reply

    • thesweetthingsqueen
      Feb 23, 2016 @ 13:16:29

      So sorry I’m just now seeing this! Yes, the 2 cup bags. I need to change the way that’s worded! When I first started making this recipe there wasn’t bigger sized bags of the Mexican blend.

      Reply

  15. Jamie
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 12:03:36

    So if I use two boxes of rotel,use the same amount on the rest of the ingredients?
    Also the cheese,when you say two bags you mean the 2 cup bags?

    Reply

  16. Anonymous
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 00:54:43

    For non-Americans: what is Rotel? and what size is your can of corn?

    Reply

  17. Jean M. Quinn
    Apr 23, 2016 @ 15:51:11

    Rotel is the name of a canned mix of tomatoes, onions and peppers, it is very popular in southern states.

    Reply

  18. Angela DeLucenay
    May 19, 2016 @ 12:58:21

    I had just a couple questions for you or anyone really. My family and I don’t do spicy, does the jalapeno make it spicy along with the boost of flavor? And I don’t like onions, but my family does. I’ll eat a meal if there isn’t a huge onion flavor, is the onion powder better for that? Thank You for your time. GOD BLESS!

    Reply

  19. Michelle Holmes
    Jul 26, 2016 @ 21:57:04

    If I am using this as a pot luck, can I make it in an aluminum pan?

    Reply

  20. Anonymous
    Jul 27, 2016 @ 08:54:13

    Goodness, just twik it. If you don’t have something, use what you do have. You can tell what size pan by the amount you have in a bowl. I always add more cheese than it calls for. Anyway, this sounds good and I will be trying it, no questions asked. Lol

    Reply

  21. Sue
    Jul 27, 2016 @ 08:57:23

    Goodness just tweak it. Sounds good, will be trying it. No questions asked.

    Reply

  22. Glenda Goble
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 19:01:45

    This is the Mexican cornbread I mint to post it is great

    Reply

Leave a Reply

